Movie Review: Coco

My movie review will be focused on one of my all time favorite movie.Coco. Growing up Latina, I never had a movie that I could look up at the screen and see myself,all of my classmates did but me.When I found out Disney, was finally making a movie about my culture and it had the key details of my childhood weaved into it. I remember  I ran to my momma crying of excitement, I would finally have a movie that had me in it.However, my momma made sure that I did not have any high expectations because we did not know if Disney captivated our culture where we felt the movie truly showed our Mexican culture. I kept watching the trailer until the movie came out,watching Miguel[main character]  interact with the music, the Latin icons involved in the movie, and seeing the altars for the relatives that have passed, it was me. I was on the screen after 14 years of waiting. Seeing the movie for the first time,I was very worried, I did not know if the trailer truly was like the rest of the movie. I was wrong. The movie represented me perfectly. It made me cry and laugh. It made my momma cry with pride to call the movie hers. The story line was absolutely beautiful,seeing Miguel have the passion for music even though it prohibited in his house,he discovered his family and the reason why his family had a vile opinion on music,by traveling to the land of the dead and seeing his family. It taught me two major lesson. One, it tells one to value and to NEVER forget our ancestors.Two, that every family has a story to be told no matter what the it keeps them from telling it.Coco will always have a deep appreciation in my soul, children who are like me can grow up with the feeling that we have a movie,and it is ours forever. It is our forever, to look back at and relive the story over and over again.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *